RosInAus

By RosInAus

Black is the New Colourful

A windy day here, grey and cold until late afternoon when the wind tore the clouds apart to reveal that the sun had been hiding there all along!

My little garden is getting colourful but is too windy today to blip flowers and plants. I watched a butterfly attempting to land on a flower - each time a gust whisked it away. Then one of the regular visitors arrived and made short work of a scrap of bread.

I wonder if birds can pass memories to the next generation? At least 5 years ago I got into the habit of putting tiny bits of fruit into the cracks of the rockery wall under the big window to my lounge in spring, and the blackbird that year soon learned where to find these treats. Each year new young blackbirds visit the garden (and to my knowledge never came with their parent) yet they know exactly where to search for the fruit and look quite crossly through the window if I forget.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.