Fritillaria Time

There are a number of different species and varieties of Fritillaria in flower in the greenhouse and the frames.  Mostly they are just green and brown flowers but in their understated way they are quite beautiful.  This is Fritillaria elwesii, one of the easiest to grow, I have some out in the sand bed here and it came back year on year in my Norwich garden.  It's one of the taller species, growing up to a foot tall.  On a grey day, it needed the flash to bring the best out of it.

A grey day but a busy one.   It started wet but the rain stopped before we got to the stables for riding ... then started again just as Jamie was about to ride.  So he borrowed my coat.  Hmm.  Bella and I kept warm in the car!   He had fun and later found he'd won a prize in their Easter raffle.  I spent a good part of the afternoon pottering at home with my latest pottery pot which gradually got smaller as my experiments with the clay didn't please me.  It'll still hold water, another plant pot holder.  I also potted on the three dionysia plants that I bought at the AGS show.  They grow in a compost that is 75% sand and grit.  Too much moisture leads to rot and almost certain death.  They're now in clay pots which will be plunged in damp sand.  Watch this space.

Tea at Jamie's.  I cooked toad in the hole for us.  Shanty singing tonight was fun and good therapy as usual.  Singing, especially in a group, focussed on only the moment, is a great way to let go of life's distractions for a while.  I'm lucky to have both making and music to add to the plants that help keep me balanced through life's ups and downs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.