pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Sprung

It was a marked contrast to yesterday as the day began (and continued) with some decidedly drizzly weather.

I gave my dad a lift back across town as he was dropping his car in for a service and then loaded mine with a small table I had long coveted, my mother had given me, which had been owned by her mother and her mother before her. It now sits in my bedroom with a spider plant resting on it.

Knowing that I would once more be spending another six hours in the car today, I took a photo of my parent’s garden before setting off, thinking that it might be the last time I saw it and then remembering that I would be seeing this same view again in the next few days when I bring the children back down with me for an Easter break.

It’s hard to spot, but if you zoom right in to one of the smaller trees in the centre background you will see a bird of prey perched there. We looked it up, but were not 100% certain what it was - I thought Goshawk and my mother guessed at Peregrine Falcon - but either way it was sat there very patiently for a long time.

I headed off for my client meeting in Colchester, which went about as well as it could have without getting the renewal instructions there and then, but the client needs to check some of the detail and will come back to me tomorrow. Following that, it was back in the car for the five hour slog back to Kendal. Fortunately, the drive was mostly kind to me and I continued on with the Bad Blood podcast, pausing only briefly for a comfort stop and brew at the M6 Toll Services. For once the barista listened and didn’t drown my tea with half a gallon of milk.

Having unloaded the car, I popped back out to collect my new floor lamp (extra) - secured in a deal with LadyV for my sideboard - and to get some food in for the arrival of the wee ones tomorrow.

With some washing put away and a couple of chores done, not long after that, once more I collapsed into bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.