St. Bega's Church.

Bet you are surprised to see an outdoor photo.  Today's weather was heavy clouds and rain.  At home the sun was shining and so a walk was on.  I have been to this church before in the late summer, early autumn so seeing it in spring was a pleasure.  This is the church which is in some of my Blips taken from the other side of Bassenthwaite Lake.
There is a lovely walk towards this church through fields, passing stone walls and sheep.  It is the only church I know that has a sign on the door saying, 'Please close the door to stop swallows getting in.'  This small church is delightful inside and you can imagine the mess swallows would make.
I took this photo resting my camera on the top bar of a closed gate.  In this instance closed was right as sheep were in the fields around it.  The gate itself had four horizontal bars and three vertical bars all equally spaced, a gate different to others which have a 'w' in their design.
I like this church which is still used for services.  Well worth the visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.