Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Polestar

Had to take my car into the Volvo garage this morning. It had a petrol leak while I was away which Pauline dealt with, then again just before I arrived back. It's been fine for a few weeks, but on Monday afternoon, there was very definitely a smell of petrol on it. As I was in the area, I took it in to have it seen to, but as it wasn't actually dripping, the man said bring it in on Wednesday morning so they can check it properly.

G came with me so I'd have a way to get back. Whilst waiting for the service agent, I couldn't help noticing this extremely unusual blue coloured sedan - the blue colour being the unusual thing - not the car. We asked the service agent about the unusual colour and he proceeded to explain how special this car is! Well, I never! More info here. Apparently, this is really something! Worth Dh 1.2million (US$ 329,000 or £218,200), this car is "doing the rounds" around the Gulf countries and is in Dubai for a couple of weeks.

I can think of much more useful things to do with cash like that . . . but I guess there is a buyer out there for this very fast and unique vehicle... even with the unusual colour!

Had a broggle around IKEA after that - I am always amazed with how they use space. Friend Miriam treated us to a movie in the evening - The Great Gatsby. Interesting to say the least; I haven't read the book so it was all new to me. Got home to the awful news of the attack in Woolwich. Hard to make sense of it.

PS. I DID get my car back - just before close of play at 6pm. Had a good chat with the staff and also another fellow Volvo owner.

Edit: PPS. Discovered the fault was just loose hose pipe clamps that are now properly secured.


PPPS. One of the times I phoned today, the lady answered the phone with my name!! I might be getting a bit too well known there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.