Caught

That was a bit of a surprise. Sitting at work, next to fellow blipper SeeSaw browsing the BBC News website when up pops one of my photos.

It's nice when that happens.

I post the great majority of my stuff under a Creative Commons licence which allows it to be used like this, as long as it's not to make money and as long as there's a link back to the original with an accreditation.

But, this time... there wasn't.

What worries me, especially with the new legislation being introduced in the UK that will allow the free use of 'orphaned' images, is that an organisation the size and breadth of the BBC can't be arsed making an effort to track down relevant info about the source of an image used on their own website. Ironically, you can read all about that elsewhere on the BBC's site.

Upshot is I've sent off an official request to update the page. I'm guessing that they might be too lazy to do that and just remove it as none of the six images on there have a mention of or a link to their respective owners.

I'll wait and see.

Edit: Turns out that image No.5 in that sequence is ALSO one of mines; didn't recognise it at first because it's been cropped so tight and enlarged to make it look rough as shit.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.