A week late.

DAMN spill-chucker I SAID LATE, not let!!! I still can't understand the colour-blindness of anybody who calls Carlins "Grey Peas", as some apparently do;  brown - yes, mottled - yes, grey - NO.     ;¬) 

As a kid we heard of Carlins long before we'd heard of Tam O'Shanter; in consequence I was perpetually amused at the thought of one of these pursuing a Horse?
"The carlin caught her by the rump And left puir Meg wi' scarce a stump."

For anybody unfamiliar:-
"Carlin Peas are a small, hard brown pea known by many other names, such as; Maple Peas, Pigeon Peas, Brown Peas and Black or Grey Badgers and were first recorded during Elizabethan times."
A fuller, quite short, tidy, explanation can be read here.
I see the Rhyme I/we learnt to remember the Lenten Sundays is shown there as "Tid, Mid, Miseray" & not the Kid, Mid, Miseray I thought it was; did I mishear, or Mam mis-learn?

My way is a goodly dollop of butter to melt through, plenty ground, black, Pepper and a liberal dose of Vinegar,  Balsamic preferred.

I haven't a viable Palm-tree anyway so will have caught up by "Pace-egg" Day.

This year I remembered to keep some back to sow/grow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.