Sunday in Yorkshire

I had a leisurely start  to my Sunday although the same couldn’t be said for Lucy who felt obliged to take Corky for an early morning walk before I was even up. He is an energetic spaniel and never lies down if he can race around, which is quite exhausting. It’s like having a toddler on speed.

Eventually we made it out to walk down the path to Saltaire for coffee at Salts Mill and a wander through all the galleries. The gallery with the books and the gallery with the art materials are magnets to me even though I need another book or another item drawing material like I need a hole in the head. Still it was good to browse before walking through the streets of Saltaire (named after the family of Sir Titus Salt)-Caroline Street, Jane Street, George street, Victoria street, Fanny Street and Titus Street to name but a few before reaching Shipley,shops and more provisions.

Coming home we took the advantage of a hurl on the Shipley Glen Tramway which operates on Sundays and hauls people up the hill to Baildon on steel cables. What a joy not to be out of breath at the top!
 
Corky was ecstatic to have us back. He has made the conscious and wise decision to target Lucy for attention- he knows he will get nowhere very interesting with me as I for the moment have been discharged from walking duty on account of age and muddy, slippery terrain. Ewan is glad as he is heavily into drawing trains and planning railway routes, so walking with an overactive dog is not his cup of tea at all.

Lucy has disappeared again with the dog onto the moor while I am going to read my book outside in the sun. It feels warm enough to be summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.