Done is good

Years ago I decided I should make a video of my mom’s friend. She ran for office, as a woman, in rural Montana, in the 80s, and won. I thought there would be lessons that should be shared and it would inspire or assist women running now.

I badgered her into agreeing. In 2019 I finally went out to Montana and interviewed her. I semi-put together the tape. And then I could not do more. I gaslighted myself into thinking it involved my accident. A friend told me people get this way because they think it will suck. I used to be an extraordinarily disciplined person but I could not make myself finish this.

She pointed out that she won’t live forever. I still could not do this. Finally I decided I should just bloody pay someone. A friend offered, and then withdrew the offer because his daughter was having so much trouble integrating back into in-person schooling. A second friend offered and then withdrew because, three months later, he’s so frequently wiped out by COVID. My friend couldn’t help me because, despite this being her field, the (Mac) software was too difficult. This made me feel better about my brain. Finally she suggested her nephew. He uses it all the time.

We spent seven hours straight working on it. We finished it!!!!!! I watched HIM have difficulty with the software and now I really feel better about my brain.

Then I went off to have dinner with a new friend and by the end my head was not ok and I couldn’t blip.

Not only did he do everything I wanted, he also contributed ideas and it is a better video than it otherwise would be.

https://youtu.be/dVy05wh7esE

No constructive criticism please, this was too difficult to get done. Yes, I know, it would be better with music in the intro.

There is a point in the video where I always think of Kendall - where she talks about her photographer friend helping her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.