MrsPuff

By MrsPuff

St Mary's in the Sunshine

St Mary's church was built over a 30-year period (1880 - 1910).
It has been closed since the February 2011 earthquake. I don't know when it will open again.

It is built from Bluestone, in the Gothic style.

I took this photo from the back of the church - not the best view, although it's still pretty good. But I wanted to get that colourful tree into the composition! I also wanted to avoid street light poles, bus stops, and cars, which are everywhere around the church, as it's right in the middle of town.

The tree is an oak tree, planted by a fellow named Andrew Burnett, to mark where he and his wife, Catherine, camped on their first journey by bullock dray to the Mackenzie Country, in 1861. I'm not sure if the tree was planted then, but a plaque next to the tree was unveiled by their grand-daughter, in 1986.

As you can see, the sun's shining brightly here today, after the Metservice said it was going to rain on and off for much of the day.

I don't know why I listen to them - they never get it right!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.