Second Attempt, Cheesy Mini Potato Gratin Stacks!

I still had half a pint of cream left, and so I decided to make a second attempt at the cheesy mini potato gratin stacks I showed you last week. On my first try, they were quite nice, and very cheesy, but they seemed more like mini au gratin potato bowls than they did crispy potato stacks, like in the pictures I had seen.

The recipe calls for nearly two and a half pounds of potatoes, and that was FAR too many potatoes for my muffin tin to handle. The first time, I used seven potatoes, two of them quite large. This time, I used five potatoes, all of medium size. It was just under two pounds, and it was STILL too many potatoes.

I also eased up on the amount of cream, as I'd overdone it last time, using a whole cup instead of the half-cup the recipe calls for. I'd say I was smack in the middle, for maybe three-fourths cup. I saved the last bit of cream for coffee or tea.

And I was more liberal on the seasoning this time, adding salt, celery salt, and a bit of paprika. Slightly less sogged down by all that extra cream, my potatoes turned out crispier and more golden.

Our mini gratin potato stacks were served with asparagus (with butter and parmesan cheese on), and baked ham, cut into little strips for easy eating. Above you may see my end result, and believe you me, when I saw them, I nearly CHEERED!!! For this is what they are supposed to look like! Yay!

My soundtrack song has to be about the look of things, as somehow it mattered a lot to me that my mini gratin potato stacks not only taste good but also look like the pictures that lured me into making them in the first place! Our song is Roxette, with The Look. (Which, can you believe it, I did not have this song in my own collection. But NOW I do.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.