There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Down Came the Rain!

And then it began to rain. And it rained and it rained and it rained and it rained. By the time it was done, it would bring a month's (or more!) worth of rain in about two days. Where did I go? Well, you know where I went. I walked over to the Barrens to check out the ponds! For you know that if there is a major weather event happening, I will be out in the thick of it!

The wild news is that the water in the ponds is higher than I've ever seen it, in the 20 years I've lived in this house. My little BIG pond is so high, I can't believe it. If it keeps on raining, it will break its banks and flood the trail! I couldn't help feeling a twinge of pride. I suddenly thought of my pond as a "her." Go, baby girl, go!

I stood at the edge, as I love to do, and I took many photos and a few short videos of the patterns of the rain. I had the biggest umbrella I could find at our house: a blue and white golf umbrella, heavy, but it did the trick. It covered ALL of me and the camera, and then some. But it was big, and weighed a lot, and the edges caught on the briars on the trail into the Barrens.

I love to make reflection and rain pattern abstracts, and so that is what I did. This was one of my favorites. That little twig at the left reminded me of the Sorcerer's Apprentice and the enchanted broom and all that water. Can we stop the water? Do we know enough magic to do that?

Tune in tomorrow to find out what happens next! In the meantime, here's one of my favorite rain songs: the Who, with Love Reign O'er Me, from Live Aid in 1985.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.