Children's Garden / Hallways of Light

I was back in my old haunts again on this day, which is to say that I visited the Arboretum and the Katz law school library. The library is one of my favorite interior spaces on campus, and it is magnificent for photos. So in the extras, you may see a picture of that marvelous space. I call it Hallways of Light.

Construction is making good progress on the new art museum along the edge of the Arboretum. And things are starting to bloom. We have daffodils, tons of helleborus, or lenten rose, and some other early stuff. The tulips are up but they're closed yet. In a week or so, it'll be quite a show.

The shot above is a view in Childhood's Gate, the children's garden, and one of the absolute jewels of the Arboretum. That's the bison I call Ferdinand in the foreground, with the Glass House and the little storage shed. It felt like being home!

In other news on this day: my husband's Chevy Impala started making a rattling sound in the dash again. So sign us up for yet another repair. And here's a milestone: we saw our first snake, an adorable little garter, on our walk back the path from Benner Cemetery. So cute!

Also, I just wanted to say this one thing. Last week, my husband and I had the opportunity to assist in an animal rescue. It was the highlight of our week. We helped save a little bird trapped in fishing twine, with a hook in its beak along Spring Creek.

We talk about that bird every day. I remember it in my daily prayers, as well as the man whose name I do not know who helped. I can't explain exactly how I feel, but let me say this: There is nothing - NOTHING - like the feeling that comes along with being an instrument of grace.

Here are my soundtrack songs: for the garden scene above, Stevie Nicks, with Gate and Garden; and for the hallways of light in the extras, Thomas Rhett with Reba McEntire, with Be a Light.

In a world full of hate, be a light
When you do somebody wrong, make it right
Don't hide in the dark, you were born to shine
In a world full of hate, be a light

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.