MonoMonday: Communication

Jensphotos is hosting MM this month (thanks Jen) and has come up with some super themes, based on historical events happening in the past on each particular Monday. This time she's pointed out that on this day in 1860 the Pony Express was launched, and in 1973 the first hand held mobile phone call was made. It's hard to believe that it's only 50 years since mobile phone communication began - how did we manage without it? (Very well actually, I'm old enough to remember!)

Anyway as I walked down Newcastle (upon Tyne)'s main shopping street today, after attending my usual Monday morning "Grumpy Old Man's Coffee Session", I spotted this big LED advertising screen and decided that it was a form of communication (of the advertising messages). The messages keep changing of course, so not wishing to promote the interests of only one company I offer you four. I hope this doesn't significantly transgress blipfoto's very sensible ban on advertising: I can assure you that I have no vested interest in any of the products advertised!

It's interesting how the individual pixels of the LED screen are much more obvious to the camera than to the naked eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.