A day out at Calke Abbey National Trust.

There was a frost first thing this morning.
We had already decided to take ourselves off for the day and arrived at our destination by 11:00 a.m. Along with a lot of other people who had decided to do the same thing, as the weather had set fair with plenty of blue sky and sunshine.
It was good to see families out enjoying themselves on the Easter trail for kids.The whole estate is very extensive including secluded ponds and a deer park.
We had a bite to eat in the restaurant on our arrival, then set off to explore. There are so many different walks you can take, which are way-marked on a good map Some of them are graded if you would prefer a shorter route, or a longer one.
We explored the immediate surroundings to the old Baroque style mansion. with the surrounding gardens, before having another break for a coffee, after which we set off to take in some of the 600 acre parkland.
Obviously there simply isn’t time to cover all of it in one go. Although I guess it can be done if you have backpacks with refreshments and take all day.
I’ll post a link at the bottom of this narrative.
By the time we started off for home, I was surprised to see I’d done 12,850 steps. (I don’t habitually use a step counter, but was curious to see quite how much we’d covered).
I was what my mum would have said “flagging a bit” towards the last bit.
Interesting expression from my days in Rossendale, Lancashire!

https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/visit/peak-district-derbyshire/calke-abbey

I am behind with blips at the moment,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.