Unruffled

We have our handyman friend from church working in the house this week, doing a few odd jobs and painting some window frames. It’s the perfect week for it, in that it’s been lovely and sunny, but the downside is that we can’t go out and enjoy a walk in the sunshine once he’s gone home, because all the windows have to be left open to let the paint dry!

Never mind, we’re making the most of the time by doing some useful jobs. Smithers, bless him, is at the moment making a batch of Betty’s Bars (the apricot, oats, seeds, orange zest and honey recipe that we love) and I’ve been making stocks of cards for our pastoral ministry team at church to send out to people who are going through difficult times. 

I’ve also been having a bash at transforming this Fair Isle sweater of mine by adding a ruffle at the neck. I do have a ruffled blouse that I can wear under it, but the sweater has fine elastic at the top of the neck, which pulls on the blouse and messes up the way the ruffle sits. By sewing gathered broderie anglaise lace into the neck I can avoid that problem, but it needs a bit of fine tuning. I’m going to undo the lace and re-insert it in a different way, but I feel confident that it’s going to work and I know I will enjoy wearing it. Those are all my favourite colours!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.