Vatican

It was our second day as tourists in Rome so we visited another major attraction - Vatican City.  My blip is of the colonnade around St Peter's Square. 

We had pre-booked tickets to visit the Vatican museums and the Sistine Chapel, which worked pretty well, avoiding the worst of the queues (which were up to an unbelievable 5 hours long!).  The buildings and their contents - paintings, sculptures, tapestries, frescoes - were astounding, as were the crowds.  In my view they had sold far too many entry tickets to the point where we were in a crush of people at times. Profiteering.  I am glad to have visited and seen this amazing place, but I won't be going back.

The weather was so much better today - warm and  sunny all day.  We have walked miles.  I think we have done enough of the tourist thing and will just take it a bit easier from now on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.