A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Brief Encounter

It was a very brief encounter, I jumped off the train onto the platform at Carnforth Station for a very swift couple of shots. We were on the train to Heysham for the ferry to the Isle of Man and I wanted to get a blip without having to go on deck once we were on board as it is so cold!
I took a quick shot of the Refreshment Room as I knew it had been made into a period room based on the film 'Brief Encounter' as although it was supposed to be set in Kent this was the actual station used for the 1945 film. The film was made by David Lean based on the Noel Coward story ' Still Life' which became a classic.
It was the guard who pointed me to the clock also famous in the film.

As I do this trip at least once a year I always like to lookout for this station and maybe one day I will have the chance to get off and have a proper look around.

More information on the film and the use of this station as a set here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.