FlowerPower!

A few weeks ago, I stopped at a little tent that one of our local greenhouses had set up near the mall, and I bought three green pepper plants, two fuchsia plants (more dancing girls!), and several plants of a fancy new variety of osteospermum.

The name of the osteospermum plants is "FlowerPower SpiderPink," which is actually quite a wonderful name. The flowers are very fun and interesting looking, the petals very defined and shapely, with a little round spoon at the end of each one. I knew when I bought them that at some point soon, I would have to photograph them for blip.

Wednesday evening, we had some tremendously powerful storms, with thunder and lightning and downpours, and the lights flickered inside the house but didn't go out. After the storms moved through, I went outside to check out how everything had fared, and I noticed that these flowers were shiny and glistening-wet with rain. I got the bright idea to photograph them in vivid mode, just to add to the fun. The result is, I must admit, rather . . . psychedelic!

As I thought about a psychedelic song clip to go along with this shot, the Austin Powers movies came to mind. There is a wonderful, fun scene in The Spy Who Shagged Me (the second and arguably best movie in the whole set) where Austin Powers (Mike Myers) and Felicity Shagwell (Heather Graham, also arguably the sexiest gal in that whole set of films) are dancing around having fun and trying on clothes together. The song playing in the background is I'm A Believer, and that's the clip I wanted to go along with this posting. Alas, that particular clip from the film is apparently not to be found anywhere online.

So I present to you my second choice: the scene in The Spy Who Shagged Me where Felicity first appears, wearing very hot hot-pants. The soundtrack of the clip is the song American Woman. And while the version of this song that appears on the soundtrack to this movie is performed by Lenny Kravitz, I could swear that the actual band playing in this clip is the original performers of the song, The Guess Who. In any case, enjoy the song: American Woman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.