pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The Last Hunt

A slightly more restful day today as the wee ones played nicely and took some photos of the birds on the feeders, which meant that I was able to sit and do nothing more than gaze out over the garden for a short time.

We then headed across town to drop The Eldest at her other grandparents for a couple of hours, which gave the wee ones and I some time to head into town itself. They had some pocket money from my parents burning a hole in their pocket, so we visited The Entertainer (which I always think promises much, but delivers little) and then the HUGE B&M store.

There was a quick go at some clothes shopping - I wasn’t allowed to buy the shirt in extras - and then after collecting The Eldest, we returned back to my parents with our purchases in hand. The Offspring were delighted to find that Nanny had laid out her annual Easter Egg Hunt (extras - a little early this year due to child scheduling commitments) and immediately began arguing about the rules and how best to share out the eggs - the true spirit of Easter - after which time, Nanny shoved them all outside, told The Eldest to stop being greedy and advised them all to get on with it.

I sat with a brew and the now charged big camera to take some photos and was pleased with this one of The Eldest, though I am sure she will hate it.

They duly did and each happily came back with baskets rattling with cheap, slightly melted chocolate. There was a genuine tinge of sadness as they realised that this would be the last hunt in this garden.

A quiet evening followed - I think that the week’s events are catching up with us all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.