pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Magnolia

I had been glued to my screen for most of the morning in dedication to the completion of a task which I had been putting off for a little while, but which I was determined to complete and did so.

My reward was a wander around town on my convoluted-due-to-all-the-flood-work walk and I passed by this beautiful magnolia tree, which imbued me with a sense of nostalgia on two fronts.

The first being that the house I grew up also had a beautiful magnolia tree in the front garden, whilst not quite the size of this, it was still lovely to behold in full bloom. I was also quietly resentful of it when it wasn’t in bloom as it took up valuable space on my small makeshift football pitch.

The second is the film; Magnolia, which as a younger man I thought was incredibly deep and an unparalleled work of genius. From the pans and cuts of the ensemble singing along to Aimee Man’s Wise Up to the deconstruction of Tom Cruise’s egotistical Frank TJ Mackey “I’m quietly judging you” and the rainfall of frogs (literally). I am tempted to go back to it, to see if it still makes me feel the way it did then, but equally I don’t want to ruin my memory of it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.