Elaine's tearooms and Ric

Some time ago - years, not months - I was looking for places to go out driving, probably when Abi was learning, but maybe it was Dan, and I was looking at the area around Settle.

And there, on the map, I noticed this tearoom that was completely off the beaten track. It was called Elaine's Tearooms, and just as I was thinking, "How on earth does a business run there?" I noticed they had 733 reviews, with an average review of 4.8/5! I resolved to go there, but it's taken until now for that to come to pass.

We set off around midday, heading east on the A65, taking the scenic route to Salford. We turned off for Feizor just before you get to Settle, and followed the road up.

Winding along the single-track road, you wouldn't believe you're going anywhere of any significance, and then you come out into the hamlet of Feizor, and Elaine's is at the centre.

After some canny parking, which proved entirely unnecessary as there is a whole other car park, Abi and I found ourselves a table outside, where, happily, we were served by one of Dan's friends, Megan (whom Abi has high on her list of prospective sisters-in-law).

The food was good, the sun was shining, and we had a very nice time. Would recommend.

And in the evening, after my German lesson, I walked over to The Marble Arch Inn to meet up with my erstwhile bandmate and good friend, Ric, who is up in Manchester for a few days looking after his daughter's dog. Good result for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.