Friday Night

Years ago, when I had a proper job in a bank, Easter was something to look forward to as it was a four day break from work. Judicious booking of days either side could even get you a whole week off work, whilst only using a day or so of your holiday entitlement.
But now I’m retired, a Bank Holiday is just another day. In fact, as my only form of gainful employment is playing in the band, I’m working more over Easter than I ever have, with gigs tonight and on Easter Sunday.
We didn’t have to set up until this evening, so I’ve had a lazy day, apart from a good session in the gym before lunch. Surprisingly busy, considering it was a lovely day weather wise and you’d think people might have headed out to the fells.
I’ve been told that my backline isn’t loud enough and the bass is getting drowned out by all the noisy guitarists. Rather than rush out and buy a bigger amp, I’m trying a bigger cab tonight. Instead of a 1x10 rated at 600W, I’m borrowing Stu’s 1x12 which is rated at 2000W. Hopefully that will have the necessary headroom to enable everything to be cranked up a bit further.
It was nice to see the poster outside when I arrived, though the place isn’t that full at the moment and we’re due to start the first set shortly. We’ve only played private do’s at this venue before, so not sure what to expect on a “public” night.
Anyway, everything sounded ok - and loud enough - during the sound check. Let’s see what it’s like at gig volume…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.