The Back Seat Of My Car

When you’ve emptied three relatives houses and one holiday home - as well as having a complete redecoration of your own home - in the last six years, it is inevitable that you end up with a lot of “stuff”. By which, I mean a load of things that do not fit in your current home but are too good to throw away and not the sort of thing that charity shops really want.
There is only one natural outlet for all this accumulated clutter, and that is the great British institution of the car boot sale. And tomorrow we have the perfect storm of car boots - first one of the year, fine weather forecast and all other retail establishments closed because it’s Easter Sunday. I reckon I’ll need to be there at least an hour ahead of the scheduled opening time (7am) to stand a chance of getting a decent pitch, but sacrifices have to be made in furtherance of the cause of decluttering. It’s not about making money - as long as I break even on pitch fee and breakfast, I’ll be happy - it’s all about finding new homes for perfectly good items and not having to send them to landfill.
I’ll be flying solo as Mrs C still not feeling too clever, though she’s said she is only prepared to do one more summer of car boots anyway, and anything not sold this year will go to the tip, no matter what.
Definitely a situation that calls for a fluid pricing structure (i.e. cheap) and big discounts for bulk buying. I’ll be quite disappointed if I return home with more than 50% of what I’m setting out with…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.