Last day

We went otter hunting ! We found a chatty Aberdonian who had hopped off the bus and would hop onto the next half an hour later. He was taking photos. Great excitement as the rising tide was flooding under the bridge and two seals were playing in the current. We stayed to chat and watch for a while. I then decided to look on the other side of the bridge and using binoculars I soon found the otters!!! So exciting to locate them but really they were pretty far away even through Bino’s!! We were booked to visit Maeshowe so headed over there in gorious sunshine.. I had been looking forward to it but because of my leg/ back issues I cannot walk when bent double and the entrance was just a metre high so I left the others going in and waited outside it till they returned. .. that didn’t feel so good but I had a happy time birdwatching instead. Then off to walk at Skaill bay and soup at Scara brae cafe.. a trip to lifeboat station and then a walk at Stenness to thank the island for having us and giving us such a wonderful holiday. It is so utterly beautiful here I am going to miss it.
We booked a supper out for tonight so headed in to town past this magnificent view of Hoy … I can hear a wind picking up and am hoping it won’t be too rough for our ferry tomorrow morning. Long day travelling tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.