Flossmo

By Flossmo

A Good Friday

It was a beautiful, crisp morning as I drove my car to the top of the hill to meet my friend J for our regular morning walk. The sun was so strong I wished I had brought my sunglasses. There were endless opportunities for photography but this exquisite magnolia was the one that caught my eye the most.

After we had walked and talked for an hour I jumped in my car and drove over to the studio where I had arranged to meet my printmaking buddy, P. She had just arrived and the kettle was boiling. We were the only two people in the building for the whole day and it was nice to work in company but without having to work around lots of other people. The screen printing went better although I was a bit tired and my back was hurting from over-use. We packed up at 3:30.

The drive home was surreal: I cruised along the Ladymead section of the A25 in Guildford without stopping, there simply wasn't any traffic. I haven't seen it that empty since the pandemic. The rest of the journey home was likewise a breeze.

Back home, I was delighted to find that the drive had been restored to its former glory, holes filled, leveled and graveled. Hurrah, no more sliding through churned up mud.

We are on a four day break from the bathroom renovations, which in one way slows everything down but in another it's nice not to have to be up and dressed before the workmen arrive and to be able to sit at my computer without listening to drilling and sawing. I am hopeful another two weeks will see it finished.      

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.