Cairn

A word I've never used. What I'm after, is a description of a bunch of rocks, organised in a pile, a mound(?), to mark the stretch of a path, for instance. You can help me with the best word to use. This cairn was particularly skilfully organised, worth a main blip. Who doesn't need a well organised mound to keep you on the right path, these days?

It's been a gorgeous easter day. After a very good and rather expensive easter lunchbuffé, I really needed a long walk to balance all the good food with some exercise. I remembered a 6 km trail I walked a couple of years ago and wanted to do it again. On my first extra you can see the start of it and the first mound marking the "trail". It wasn't easy, some times I lost them and had to go back to find the right way. As you can see it's rather easy to get lost out here, maybe not on a day like today but fog or rain change the perspective quite a lot and you can go around in circles forever. I was also lucky to find the opposite of a mound. This was sea bottom once and I believe this might be a sign of that period. I'm not sure the rock in the hole is the original one though. 

Along the trail there is a strange, short but very well made stone wall, looking completely out of place. It was built around 1900 and marks the start of exact cartography in Sweden using scientific methods. The wall is called "The cartographers wall" and was used to make measurements. "Alvaret", the very flat limestone plain on Öland, was the first area to be measured using fixpoints and triangles and later, aerial photography. The wall was somehow a starting point but exactly how it was used is still a bit of a riddle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.