Living my dream

By Mima

Just peachy

The black-boy peaches* are ripe. I have a young tree which has borne fruit for the first time this year. I collected them into a large bucket this afternoon.

Some of them are hilariously buttock-shaped. They have stunning red flesh and are delicious eaten raw or lightly cooked. See the extra for their innards.

I have only come across these peaches in NZ and would be interested to hear if any Blippers have found them elsewhere.

Bartering is taking some unexpected turns at the moment due to the cost of fresh fruit and veg. Today’s surprise was to be offered a large chunk of fresh home-kill beef in exchange for a bag of onions.

Even more family history is coming out of the woodwork thanks to information from more cousins. If nothing else, the discovery of uncomfortable history is reconnecting the wider family which is a wonderful thing.

My Dad would have celebrated his 101st birthday today. HB Old Man: you are still my role model.


* = Surely they should be renamed?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.