Living my dream

By Mima

A whopper, not a looker.

This tomato fits neatly into my hand and weighs 575g. It will require a bit of excavation to remove some mould, but I’ll be able to use most of it. I picked eight today which were all around the same size. At the moment I’m not quite sure what they will turn into. I shall sleep on it.

It is Cheeseday and today I ventured into the world of Cheshire cheese. It is not complicated, but it is involved. There are lots of steps with half hour rests between each one. 

So I was in and out of the garden and kitchen most of the afternoon, trying to squash outdoor jobs into 30 minute chunks. It’s amazing how much you can achieve in half an hour. I got heaps done.

An interesting email from a cousin arrived overnight, telling me that a great-great-grandfather on our maternal side commanded a Royal Navy ship which intercepted slave ships, post-abolition, and freed the enslaved Africans, returning them to Africa (where I hope they weren’t re-enslaved). Our great uncle owned a slave collar which came from one of the ships and was given to him by his grandfather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.