Living my dream

By Mima

Cut

Thank you for the thoughtful and empathetic comments yesterday. I really appreciate the time you took to respond. 

It’s been a blue sky day right from a near-freezing dawn to this evening. I’ve been on the go for all of it. A marvellous day.

During the cold morning I made a couple of flans to use up veg surpluses. And I made a big batch of guacamole using some avocados a friend sent me which all ripened simultaneously. Like they do.

With heavy rain possible in a few days I’m on a mission to get as much grass under control Chez Mima as possible before it starts. Today I mowed the main lawn, and it does look good now. Tomorrow I’ll be wielding the line trimmer all over the place.

I’m making good progress splitting firewood. The woodstore is starting to look respectable again. It will be bulging well before the proper cold weather.

I planted some crocus bulbs around the tea bushes, collected walnuts and peaches from beneath the trees, picked tomatoes and the final cucumber, and received an unexpected postal delivery in the shape of the extra. 

It is a hefty tome, perfect for cold mornings and wet days. I’m really looking forward to getting stuck in. There’s nothing like the anticipation of a good read to put a smile on my face.

Bean started the day curled in the tightest of balls under two blankets. Once the sun arrived on the deck she stretched full length on her sheepskin, soaking up the heat. She shifted between her various beds on various decks as the sun moved round the property. Now the sun has dipped away she back beneath a blanket. What a life. What a routine. 

We had a walk of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.