pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Take me to church

I had a novel experience this morning when I went to church and didn’t get married.

I wish I had known before now that that was an option.

LadyV is a member of a relatively new church in her hometown and had invited me along to join the Easter service. I’m not religiously inclined in any sense of the word, but knowing the importance of her faith in her life and with her reassurance that I would not be indoctrinated into a cult and encouraged to drink the Kool-Aid, I thought I would give it a go.

There were plenty of happy, smiley faces on arrival - though I sniffed and eyed the cup of tea I was offered with great suspicion - and every one seemed perfectly normal. I was surprised to see Johnny from work there and even more surprised when he and his guitar (along with his wife), took to the front and started singing. His voice was incredible!

There was a good-sized and eclectic congregation who were clearly feeling the Pastor’s words and when the singing started there was some swaying and raising of hands. Though I remained seated, I could feel the familiar sting of tears behind my eyes as the warmth of the group coming together in their faith and praise of their Lord moved me - I’m envious and full of quiet awe in those who can let themselves go and have that much faith in anything. My cynical earthly presence remains untouched by the machinations of the Holy Spirit, but I am glad I went along though as they were a lovely bunch of people and for all the right reasons, it was certainly unlike any church experience I’d had before…and my marital status remains single.

We returned to LadyV’s for a quick, brisk walk along the prom before getting back and prepping the last of the mountain of food she had pulled together to feed her wider family. The lamb pictured was amazing (apologies to my veggie friends) and there followed yet more warmth with Easter Egg hunts, games with the children and some really good food and chat.

I stayed until early evening and then headed off, where the rest of a really lovely Easter Sunday passed watching Jon Rahm win The Masters.

Happy Easter! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.