pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The doors

Woke with renewed vigour and in the knowledge that there were house-type tasks to complete – namely six doors requiring a coat of Ozmo (love that name) which would make them look nice and effectively seal them.

I set to work and was immediately delighted with the results as the gunk immediately brought out the grain in the wood and lent the doors a nice hue (I’ve put a shot in extras if that’s your kind of thing). It didn’t take that long and was just the kind of mind-numbing task I was after.

As I worked on the timber, the decorator was in and had set to work on The Eldest’s room. Having steered The Youngest away from the bleeding walls look, it was now The Eldest’s room that I was most worried about, but I have to say that the look she has gone for is really lovely. I’m going to save photos until the thing is completed now.

With the fumes giving me a bit of a headache, I took a wander into town for some supplies and broke for lunch before returning to the house and taking the first pass at cleaning the mosaic floor in the hallway, which is fair to say has taken a battering over the past few weeks.

With those fumes also giving me a bit of a headache, I crashed out for a bit after and then it was time to collect Ms Simmo for her belated birthday meal at the Masons Arms at Strawberry Bank. And there, dear reader, was the only disappointment of the day as the chorizo and prawn risotto, which had been on their online menu, was no longer being offered. Devastated, I rallied and settled for a fish pie followed by sticky toffee pudding. As if to taunt me, Simmo tucked into a mushroom risotto also followed by sticky toffee pudding, which for once she actually finished!! I was crushed.

Lovely day of getting jobs done and being cooked for. What’s not to like about that?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.