Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Thieving Magpie

I've enjoyed the antics of some of our smaller bird visitors to the feeders over the winter.  I was however, surprised to see this magpie taking advantage of the suet feeder this evening.  Luckily I had the camera by me with an appropriate lens to capture his technique.

I'd had the camera ready to capture the behaviour of a couple of robins, who had been foraging on the lawn, possibly for suitable nesting material.  

Despite the bank holiday the pool was open at the normal time so I headed down for an early swim.  Typically I swim a mile each time but over the last week I have been extending my range and today I reached 2,000 metres (80 lengths).  It is often very boring and were it not for my watch I know I'd lose count.  Thankfully the watch is very accurate at counting the lengths.

Other than that it was a tidying and cleaning sort of day, between the heavy showers.

p.s. thanks for the kindness on yesterday's image, I took a lot of pleasure from that short time at the reservoir.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.