An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Lazy bones, lying in the sun...

DW, the lovely man in charge of the people who help keep our garden under control, was popping round to see us after lunch to discuss the plants we want to put into the gaps left after the massive clear out we had last summer.  He'd already sent us an eight page list of plants forwarded to him by E (garden designer) after her walk round the garden and conversation with us in February and wanted us to score off any plants we don't like.

We set about this task mid morning thinking it would take a while but turns out E listened very carefully to us when she visited and out of 8 pages of plants, there were only two that we scored out (grassy type things) Not that we're going to have all the plants listed!  She just wanted to know our likes and dislikes and we were able to score the plants we do like (I was impressed as I knew a lot more than I thought I did :-) awarding them one, two or three ticks depending on how keen we are.

DW will take this further info back to E and hopefully she will produce a planting plan by the beginning of May with planting starting before the end of May.  Some plants (eg spring bulbs) will go in later in the year.There are still two areas of the garden that need to be cleared out and the guys started on that today.  

When DW left Lola came with me to the side garden so I could check the state of my herb pots.  The mint and thyme have survived but the rosemary will need to be replaced.

Spent some time crocheting the hexi cardi I am attempting.  Esme liked it when she saw it yesterday so if this one works out, I may do a smaller version for her as part of her birthday pressie in September.

Alan was back in the pool this afternoon for his first swim post covid and he had a fantastic time.  So good to hear him laughing so heartily.

Made Delia's chicken with lime and coconut for dinner.  A simple little dish but very flavoursome.

We ended up watching Moonraker.  Neither of us recall seeing it before although some bits were familiar.  I think we probably have seen it but because it's so bad, we have erased it from our minds.  Honestly, we were laughing out loud all the way through, it's that awful! 

Crocheted a little more then discovered I'd made an error three rounds earlier and had to frog it!  Very frustrating!  I usually check after every round so not sure how I missed it.  I have caught up again though so all's well that ends well :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.