and through the wire...

By hesscat

Freedom!!

I've been thinking about this day for a while... first pickup the kitties, Ms H joined me on her way to work as she couldn't wait until the evening to see the kittens. Back home and they settled into their routine and couldn't wait to get out.

Then down to Peebles for Arlo. The kennels are in the middle of nowhere, and the kennel area has a run straight to a wooded area where groups of them go to play for a while. It's a pain to get to, but I think I've come to the conclusion it is the best we are aware of.

Anyway, as I arrived, I saw him looking out... when a car arrives, the dogs all bark for a while, but both times now, he just looks out, ears down. 2 young boys who help there let him out and he raced to both myself and the woman early shift person, and back and forward to us both, he clearly likes them. She said he got on great, always well behaved, ready for fun, loves all the other dogs, and a phrase I'd not heard of before, "not too much of anything", suggesting he was fine. As we were sorting out his stuff, he was dashing about the kennel area. One of the boys helped me carry his stuff to the car and was talking about him and said he was the only dog who never barked, which surprises me because at home if he hears the local sheep dogs barking, he'd join in. It was a relief to hear all this, cos us softies keep worrying about all that, but the true test is what he does the next time we take him there.

I took him walk along the River Tweed for him to let it all out, he was tired by the end I expect he will be tired for a while as he catches up - the boy needs his sleep. It was a lovely sunny walk.

So, back in the old routine tomorrow, back to work, back to reality :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.