Space

Without going into details, today has been one of the worst days I’ve had for ages, and whilst I managed quite a bit of blip catch-up earlier in the day, later things become impossible. I seriously contemplate the horrors of going to A&E - but hold on hoping things get better. And they do - just. 

Fortunately, our weekend guests have left for home - I would have been a useless hostess. And of course, there’s little possibility of photography, but I try to distract myself by thinking of something I could do to meet Jen’s mono challenge today. I need distractions. 

As the day draws to a close and I feel slightly better, I remember a Mughal watercolour we brought back from one of our Indian trips, and decide that that will fit the bill. Somehow it seems like cheating to photograph a painting, yet I’d think nothing of blipping a vase, a carving or a sculpture.  

I love these tiny works of art with their brilliant colour and minute detail, painted with the finest brushes often consisting of a single hair. And here we see astronomers mapping out space against the background of starry night sky. 

Looking at this makes me think of the amazing astronomical observatory of Jaipur constructed between 1724 and 1730 by Maharajah Sawaii Jai Singh II - stunningly beautiful sculptural forms designed to investigate the heavens. Somewhere I have photos taken on our last visit, but in their absence, here’s a link if you’re interested in knowing more.
https://www.jantarmantar.org/index.html

Thanks to Jensphotos for hosting! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.