A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Hundertwasser Art Centre, Whangārei.

The Hundertwasser Art Centre in Whangārei has only been open for about a year. It is definitely a gem of a place to visit and I have added two extras to share with you. I found out about it from a Blip by tokoroa back in December.

Hundertwasser's architecture has long fascinated me since my first visit to NZ. Tomorrow I travel north again and will share the building I first saw designed by him. Some of you will know what and where I am talking about. This art centre was designed by Hundertwasser but he died in 2000 so never saw how good it is.

Again the weather has been on our side. Whilst we visited the art centre it was dry so we could go onto the roof but later when we headed to Whangārei Heads the heavens opened so heavily we returned to our motel. The road we were on had signs of past land slips and fallen trees and we didn't want to push our luck. Once back it become worst, all heading south.


This evening it cleared up and we went out for a Thai meal. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.