Life through the lens...

By ValC

In memory.

The post lady delivered a very special envelope today.
It contained this certificate which means a lot to me.

My father was a church organist, and played the organ at Westgate Hill Methodist Church from when I was a little girl up until they moved to Cornwall in 1969.
There, both he and my mother joined Goldsithney Methodist Church where he again played the organ for a few years.

So when I received an email asking for donations towards the restoration of Leeds Town Hall organ, I thought it was a wonderful opportunity to ‘ Adopt an Organ Pipe’ and dedicate it to my father.
His name will now be in a book which will be permanently housed inside the organ, and we have this lovely certificate which I will frame.
I’m sure he would be as delighted as I am to help in a small way towards this wonderful project.
( see extra)

The organ was originally built by Gray and Davison of London to William Spark and Henry Smart’s ambitious design of nearly 100 stops with many technical innovations.
First played publicly when the Town Hall was opened in 1858 by Queen Victoria.
The reconstruction is costing £1.8million.
Some of the pipes are being retained and repaired, but all the organ’s mechanism, console and about a third of its 6500 are being made new.

We are very much looking forward to hearing it being played again when the completion is finished in early 2024, and also look forward to attending the Lord Mayor’s Carol Concert there once again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.