Not the best nest

As the weather forecast was for rain to come, I did some work in the garden this morning. I timed it right as the rain started at lunchtime and has continued.

My jasmine was threatening to outgrow it's space and trespass over the  wall into next door's garden so I did a bit of trimming. I found this nest held securely in it's branches.

Last year a blackbird built the nest but she didn't lay any eggs.  I wasn't surprised as it was right by my back door so there would have been far too much disturbance. It's beautifully woven together with twigs, grasses, hair and garden twine.  I was sorry to see quite a bit of plastic in there but sadly that's a fact of life these days.

My granddaughter will be intersted to see it so it's in a box to keep it all together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.