Pleasant encounters

I thought I'd do a litter pick today as I haven't done one for a while and it was a nice sunny morning, but as I was getting ready to go out mid-morning the heavens opened! Typical. I waited for half an hour then set off - fortunately it stayed dry while I was out. Hope Kitchen was doing one of their regular beach cleans so I called by on my route, but they had a good turnout so I carried on to complete my usual circuit.

On the way down Jacob's Ladder I met a lady coming up - see extra - and had a chat. She was touring around with a small group of retired friends and told me that she was called Paula and came from Little River, near Mendocino in Northern California. We ended up talking for nearly half an hour and she invited Mrs M and me to come and stay if we ever came to California! I thanked her, but said it was unlikely. She gave me her email address and said she would love to see some pictures of the places that they hadn't been able to visit. A pleasant encounter.

Further down the Ladder I went to pick up a piece of paper and noticed a slow worm hiding in the grass - I suppose the warmer weather had brought it out. I haven't seen one for a long time, so popped it on to the step for a Blip before returning it to it's grassy hidey hole.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.