Disappointment

I’m used to going to R&T Music in Barrow and handing over cash to buy guitars and amps.
I’m used to going to R&T Music a few weeks later and handing over said guitars and amps in part exchange for further guitars and amps.
However, today was a new low as I handed over both cash and part-ex items yet left the shop with nothing. I was after a new amp and had seen it was still available on the website yesterday. Unfortunately, by the time I got to the shop at lunchtime today, it had been sold. They are trying to track down another one and I said that they might as well take my cash and part-ex items as a down payment as I really couldn’t be bothered taking them back home with me.
Another disappointment on the way home when I called in at Lloyd BMW to see if the bit of trim they had promised to replace after breaking it when repairing the washer bottle had arrived. I’d been promised it at least two weeks ago so hoped they might have finally got it sorted. The good news was that it had been painted and was ready to be fitted. The bad news was that one of the mounting “prongs” had been snapped off during transit, thus rendering the whole thing unusable. Profuse apologies and the whole process has been started afresh. I’m promised this new one should be painted and ready to fit in a week or so. I’m not holding my breath.
The afternoon was spent going through the filing cabinet and throwing anything away that was no longer relevant. I came across this Merit Prize certificate for an essay I had written 55 years ago, aged 7. I can’t remember if the Cadbury involvement meant there was chocolate to be won as well as the certificate, but I would like to think that there was at least a Dairy Milk bar up for grabs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.