ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Super Bass

A month after I bought my cheapo Squier Precision bass, it has now been thoroughly upgraded. A considerably quicker process than it took to build and upgrade my Bronco bass, which took three months to do back in 2020. Though, a global pandemic and a lockdown might have been a contributory factor to that timescale!
Final tweaks done this morning, and I’ve played it through my small amp. Still needs plugging in to the main rig at some point, but I’d rather do that when we’re having a practice at gig volumes so the tone can be properly dialled in.
I’m very pleased with the end result as the whole project has come in at a whisker under £400. A Fender P Bass of vaguely similar spec would be at least twice that amount and wouldn’t be as “personalised” as this project.
Now, just for fun, there are nine differences (upgrades) between the guitars in this picture. Seven are visible (if you look carefully) but two aren’t, though a look back through previous blips should give you the answers. Hint: not everything is about tone, sometimes it’s about playability.
No prizes on offer other than the chance to show off your guitar knowledge. Or demonstrate how assiduously you read my blips!
And, for the avoidance of all doubt, the upgraded one is on the left!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.