Bug on Bud

Wishing my oldest granddaughter (yippee, I have more than one now!), Allegra, a very happy 7th birthday. Only the second time we haven't been with her on the day, but happy she can have a party with her friends tomorrow; she loves her friends a lot.

I always see what the challenges are from Mambo, she's so good at them... decided I could join in with this one (see tags). My oldest yellow rose has filled up with buds and roses, and bugs, while we were away.

Walked into town and checked our guests into the new little hotel on the main square, as I'm not counting on our house being workable by when they arrive, nor on me having enough energy to get things ready for them. 

Gratefuls:
- finishing an excellent book, House of Glass, by Hadley Freeman, a(ex, apparently) Guardian writer, about the different ways the generation of her grandparents coped with being Jewish during the 20th century. Hard to put down, very moving, but also hugely pertinent to so much today; I made a lot of comparisons with the Ciganos. Highly recommended.

- a more peaceful day, as really, just waiting for tomorrow, when we hope Chico will be restoring our electricity and we'll have running water again, and a washing machine and a fridge, and our poor plants a drink again

- Mike's good sourdough with avocado, black garlic, and crunchy onions, about as perfect a taste as you can get, imo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.