Flossmo

By Flossmo

Walk

Despite an iffy forecast it was a bright, shiny morning so I walked up the road to meet my friend J for some fresh air, exercise and a natter. There were so many lovely flowers en route that it was difficult to decide what to photograph. In the end I made a decision to not make a decision and have a collage instead.

Back home I ploughed through some computer tasks including quite a few emails and by lunchtime I was feeling quite pleased with myself. The trouble with sending out emails is... back come replies and then there are a whole lot more to send. Hm.

I carried on with my admin tasks after lunch but by mid-afternoon I was heartily sick of the thump thump of 21st century music coming from the bathroom, which is right opposite my study. I could have asked the tiler to switch it off but it seemed churlish so I retired to the living room with my iPad. On the bright side the floor tiles are down in both bathrooms and I can definitely see the light at the end of tunnel.  

Afternoon brought with it the rain and it seems there is more on the way so I was glad I got a walk in whilst the sun shone.

This evening's viewing included episode 14 of Simon Schama's A History of Britain. I regard Schama as the ultimate erudite man so I couldn't help but have a little snigger at his pronunciation of Hawarden  (home of William Gladstone) as it's written and not as it should be pronounced - harden. Growing up not far from Hawarden it was nothing clever to know how to pronounce it, but still it was a small pleasure to find something I knew that Schama didn't.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.