Bank Holiday Monday in Bournemouth

I went down to see P whose partner Lynne , my friend, has just died. We talked a lot, sorted out some books to go to the oxfam shop, took the dog for a walk and had a little lunch at the park cafe. I was glad she decided to leave sorting Lynne’s clothes for another day. It’s very hard for her to get through each day, but there is strength which with get her through. She has some supportive friends, one of which is me.  I’ll be there again soon. 
Above is Lynne’s cat Louis.  He’s spending most of his time lying on her duvet cover. 
The thing about being ill  for some months is that you have time to prepare.  Not long after I’d arrived P gave be a jiffy bag with my name on in Lynne’s writing. Inside was a photo of me laughing taken by Lynne on my 40th birthday, one of her books (Anne Cleeves- an ornithological murder mystery), one of her DVDs (Jam and Jerusalem - a Jennifer Saunders comedy about the WI), a teatowel she got on one of her last days out, at Lyme Regis, featuring Women Who Changed The World (but weren’t necessarily very much recognised for doing so) and a card featuring a beautiful picture of kingfishers (which she knew were my favourite birds) in which she said goodbye. Everything about this is so completely her. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.