earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

One up the Alley

I was aware of this being a special day for my Face by Face project. After being laid low with a stinker of a cold these last three days, I was glad to be feeling well enough for a planned trip to see E, having missed seeing anyone over Easter because of feeling so grotty. I always look forward to finding out who I'm going to meet in Leeds to photograph. Today it was Walter. I didn't even have to approach him. He approached me as I was taking the photograph you see here.

I'd spotted this gate open just opposite the Corn Exchange, a delivery being made. I love the secret alleyways that are revealed at such times. This is the business end of the city. Someone was kind enough to wait before closing it so that I could grab a moment to get my shot. I heard a voice of appreciation from behind me, someone with a similar alternative eye for beauty in unlikely places. I suggested he must be an artist and it turned out he was. He was also a very cool subject. 

So, nothing special today. My portrait is invariably of the person with whom I first establish a connection during the day. I've said pretty much everything before. It's become part of my life now. I'm sure it's changed my life. It's mostly an easy thing to do, but not always. It is always rewarding, however, and it's on those days when I'm finding it not so easy that I get the biggest boost. This daily encounter with someone takes me out of myself. It's a moment that's capable of rebooting my whole day. 

To have not missed a single day in ten years is a little hard to get my head around. I never expected to be able to keep going through Covid but circumstances were kind to me and it never felt like it was a risky thing to approach people, at a safe distance, always taking precautions when appropriate.

There are occasions when I question what I'm doing but it's usually not too long before someone points out that I've made their day. I honour my subjects with acknowledgement and that's invariably appreciated. And I'm honoured too, by everyone who says yes, as well as those of you out there in Blip world who regularly check in. That's appreciated too. Thanks to every one of you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.