MONO MONDAY - LIGHT IN B & W PHOTOGRAPHY

I thought I would give you all a little smile first thing on Monday morning by telling you what happened almost in the middle of the night.  My right hand is still very sore so you do need  to know that I am actually dictating this.

I came up to bed before Mr HCB last night because he wanted to watch his team playing football. It was just after 11 o’clock,  but when I went out into the kitchen I could see that my tulips with just right for their 15 minutes fame on blip, as mono flowers.  However, you know me and the ethos of blip so I came up to bed read my book for a while and when Mr HCB came up at about 11.15 I told him that I would be going back down just after midnight to take photographs of my tulips.  He laughed and said that he probably wouldn’t be awake then, but to carry on - as if I wouldn’t!

On the stroke of midnight, I duly went downstairs took lots of photographs of the tulips but decided that I would just check once again on the theme for Mono Monday for the 1st of March. What a good job I did because horror of horrors the theme for today is “Light in Black & White Photography.”  This shot was actually taken at 12.42 a.m. so definitely on 1st March.

I blame “lockdown brain” for this but undeterred and having seen the moon through the bedroom window earlier,  I decided that a moonshot  would be suitable for today.  This shot is the moon in its Waning Gibbous phase and has an illumination of 98%. This is the percentage of the moon illuminated by the sun. The illumination is constantly changing and can vary up to 10% a day.  When this shot was taken, according to the website, MoonGiant, the moon was 16.02 days old. This refers to how many days it has been since the last New Moon. It takes 29.53 days for the moon to orbit the earth and go through the lunar cycle of all 8 moon phases.

The moral of this story is, of course, to double check before you go to a lot of trouble taking a photograph, but I have no doubt it will happen again!

I apologise that I haven’t been commenting just lately but I’m going to try short comments on shots and see how that works out. I really appreciate all your kind comments, stars and hearts in the last few days.

My “Lenten Intention” telephone calls have been going well, and people seem to be pleased to hear from me and at least I can chat without using my hands! Take care, have a great week and if you are Welsh, Happy St. David’s Day.

This quote brings me comfort when I think of those I love who are far away:

“Always remember
we are under the same sky,
looking at the same moon.”
Maxine Lee

P.S.  I never know when taking a shot like this and then putting it on Blip whether to place the subject "bang in the middle" - perhaps someone who is a better photographer than I can enlighten me.  This was taken with my Canon SX50 camera, hand-held, but with a remote shutter lead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.