TINY TUESDAY - PHOTOGRAPHED BY MRS. HCB...

…but grown by Mr. HCB!  If you’re not a gardener, you won’t understand the excitement of planting and then seeing such tiny little seeds grow and push up through grit.  On the other hand, if you are, then  you will understand how thrilled Mr. HCB was to see these little seedlings.

He planted four Cucumber Burpless Tasty Green F1 seeds on Wednesday, 24th February, and on Sunday, 28th February, was excited to see that they had all germinated and were beginning to grow.

When I asked him how many he had planted, he told me “Only four” because he has also planted some Mini Munch Cucumbers and doesn’t want too many plants.

He is also concerned that after his cataract operation, which is due to take place on 11th March, he won’t be able to do much in the greenhouse or garden, so he wanted to make sure that his seeds and plants had a good start.

According to the blurb on the packet, which came from Marshalls, these Burpless cucumbers have tender skin and are easy to digest, they produce crisp, succulent and tasty fruits and have good disease resistance.  

Sounds good to me - so between July and September, we should have some lovely cucumbers.  Mr. HCB has also planted tomatoes, sweet peppers, leeks, petunias, gerberas, baptisia and astrantia.  He has decided not to plant so many tomatoes this year, though, because they took forever to ripen last year and they do take up a lot of his time.  Beans and peas will be planted at the appropriate time, but whatever grows, I will be thankful, because you can't beat home-grown produce.

I did go out for a quick walk this morning, but it was bitterly cold, so I didn’t stay out for very long and am pleased I had a warm home to come back to.  

“A seed rises from dirt 
     to prove to the world 
          that its greatness lies 
not on what the world thinks of it, 
     but from within.” 
Matshona Dhliwayo

P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments, stars and hearts on yesterday’s moon shot - all of which are much appreciated.  I did do some commenting, but my hand is still painful - however, I will do what I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.