GLOBAL DAY OF PRAYER FOR UKRAINE

Mr. HCB and I follow a series each day entitled Lectio 365 and today the founder, Pete Greig, reminded us of the Global Day of Prayer today - Ash Wednesday - instigated by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York and Pope Francis to pray for peace in Ukraine.  You can find out more here.

Even if you aren’t a believer and don’t pray, I know that many may still want to join in a day of quiet reflection to think about what’s happening in Ukraine, which is making us feel both sad and angry - but how uplifting to see the resilience of the amazing Ukrainian people.  

The Peace of Wild Things
When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting with their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.
Wendell Berry

P.S.  You might like to listen to this link, shared by HarlingDarling yesterday - it is a beautiful lament and Prayer for Peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.