MONO MONDAY - ESSENTIAL

Essential : absolutely necessary, extremely important, a basic thing you can’t live without

Hello Lovely Blippers,

I haven’t been in any of Mrs. HCB’s Blips for quite sometime, so when I heard her chatting with Mr. HCB about today’s Blip, I thought I would get in on the act.

Usually in the morning, Mrs. HCB looks at the challenge for the day and when she said that today’s word for Mono Monday was “essential” she then said “Well, it’s got to be toilet rolls then because we couldn’t live without them," which made Mr. HCB laugh!  I know she has lots stashed away in the airing cupboard - and all these came from Waitrose - so I made sure I crept upstairs behind her to see what she was going to do.

I know perhaps it’s an indelicate subject, but I have heard Mrs. HCB mention that many years ago people had toilet paper called IZAL and it really was paper.  It wasn’t this soft tissue stuff that people use these days - it was hard and it was horrible - and she said not only did it make your hands smell, but …… well, I won’t even say any more, but leave it to your imagination!

Having said that, I’m sure many of you older Blippers can remember going into an outside lavatory many years ago and seeing squares of newspaper, threaded on string and then hung on a hook near to where you would sit.  I will leave it to your imagination again to consider what sort of imprint that would make on your nether regions!

Of course, there are many names for the place we go to “answer the call of nature” -toilet, lavatory, loo, privy, netty, dunny, bog, khazi, W.C. (or water closet), and latrine.  I’m sure there are more, and of course, in the western world, we feel these are essential, as well as toilet rolls - I’m sure you get my drift!

Whilst we are on the subject of toilet paper, I wonder which way you choose to hang yours - and I would be willing to bet that this has never been discussed on Blip before! According to Mrs. HCB, there are two ways to hang toilet paper and it is often debated which way is the correct one: 

1) over - with the loose end draped over the top, and 
2) under - with the loose end hanging inside next to the wall

I do know that when Mrs. HCB finds one that is contrary to the way she hangs hers, she changes it - what is she like?  

Best wishes to you all,

JH Ted xx 

“Everybody wants to change the world,
     but nobody wants to change the 
          toilet paper roll when the 
               last piece has been used!”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.